Pedro Calderón de la Barca’s La vida es sueño


 I came across this poem in the latter part of the Spanish Film Festival Program in 2008. I kept on sharing it because it’s simply beautiful.  So here it goes….

¿ Qué es la vida?, un fresnesí;

Ano nga ba ang buhay? Isang kahibangan;

¿ qué es la vida?, una illusion,

Ano nga ba ang buhay? Isang ilusyon,

Una sombra, una ficción,

Isang anino, isang kasinungalingan.

y el mayor bien es pequeño:

At ang malalaking biyaya’y maliliit pa rin,

Que toda la vida es sueño,

dahil ang buhay ay isa lamang pangarap

y los sueños, sueños son.

at ang mga pangarap ay pangarap lamang.

La vida es sueño

Pedro Calderón de la Barca (Madrid, 1600-1681)

(From Instituto Cervante’s Berso sa Metro)

2 thoughts on “Pedro Calderón de la Barca’s La vida es sueño

  1. Healthy Food list for breakfast says:

    I leave a response each time I like a post on a site or I have something to add to the conversation.
    It is triggered by the passion communicated in the article I looked at.

    And on this article Pedro Calderón de la Barca’s La vida es sueño |
    Joann’s Corner. I was moved enough to leave a thought 😉 I do have a few questions for you if it’s allright.
    Is it only me or do some of these comments appear like they
    are coming from brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are posting at other places,
    I’d like to follow you. Would you make a list the complete urls of your communal sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

