Books and Cups

It is Good Friday and I was tired of staring at my bedroom ceiling and I am not in the mood to watch TV or surf the net. For something to do, I decided to rummage my Mom’s china; two sets were from the 1970s, one set from the 1980s and the 1990s. I already asked her to bequest it to me (along with some narra furniture) and yes, she agreed to do so.

I played with my camera out of my day’s nothingness and I have also added some of books which helped me these past few years. The books were my source of comfort when I am kinda down and emotional on some things. I was able to collect them. Some were gifts, others, I found in book expo, some, I found in small bookstores in the mall and some I bought from the major bookstores.

Here are the few which I was able to pull together for some photo ops with the cups and some of my favorite quotes from the books.

“Ask once, Believe you have received, and all you have to do to Receive is feel good.” – The Secret

 I first read Lives of the Saints in High School, during Library period when I do not want to do some school work. I alternate it with How to Help your Aging Parents.  So, I can answer some questions about the Saints up to this date.

Crossing the Threshold of Hope

Pope John Paul, II

Lives of the Saints

Sr. Anna Bagadiong, FSP- ed.

LOVE The Words and Inspiration of Mother Theresa

Mother Theresa in my own Words

Jose Luis Gonzales-Balado

The Secret

Rhonda Byrne

How to Live a Life of Miracles

Bo Sanchez

“I was not delivered into this world into defeat, nor does failure course in my veins. I am not a sheep waiting to be prodded by my shepherd. I am a lion and I refuse to talk, to walk with the sheep. The slaughterhouse of failure is not my destiny. I will persist until I succeed.”- The Greatest Salesman in the World

Tuesdays with Morrie made me cry (one of the few books which really made me shed tears). My favorite line is “The Most Important thing in life is to learn how to give out love and to let it come in. “

 

The Greatest Salesman in the World

Og Mandino

Tuesdays with Morrie

Mitch Albom

The Alchemist

Paulo Coelho

The Fifth Mountain

Paulo Coelho

I am also fascinated by the Buddhists’  meditation practice and how they achieve calmness of mind and body. I was fortunate to find these helpful pamphlet/reading materials when I attended a book fair sometime in 2009.

An Introduction to the Sutras and Dharma Instruments

Buddhist Art Booklet Series

Buddhist Rituals and Observances

Buddhist Art Booklet Series

The Enlightenment of an Indian Prince

Buddhist Art Booklet Series

Buddhist Perspectives-Spiritual Practice

Venerable Master Hsing Yun

The Essence of Buddhism

Venerable Master Hsing Yun

The Fundamental Concepts of Humanistic Buddhism

Venerable Master Hsing Yun

Thoughts on Being at Peace

Thoughts on Being Happy

The Essential Dalai Lama is one of my favorite books of all time, after all the Dalai Lama is all for loving compassion. And when I am hit by the blues, Hope for the Flower and Being Happy always brighten my day.

The Essential Dalai Lama

Rajiv Mehrotra- ed

The Master Tells Stories

Dharma Master Cheng Yen

Hope for the Flowers

Trina Paulus

Being Happy

Andrew Matthews

I was in this Southside mall when I found this small bookstore which carries inspirational books from Blue Mountain Press which includes those in the pictures. It is inspirational, an easy reading material for anyone who wants an instant inspiration. It is also pleasantly colored which makes it soothing to the eyes.

The 78 Things they didn’t Teach You in School is such a delightful read. It talks about things you will do on your own when you decide to move out from home.

“It may take a while. And you may need to deal with things you’d rather not dwell on. But if you want it bad enough, your courage will carry you to a brighter day. There is always a way…to get you to the place where you can live the life you’ve always wanted to have.”

From Blue Mountain Arts Collection

30 Beautiful Things that are true about you

Donald Pagels

Ideals for Women to Live By

Patricia Wayant-ed

The Language of Recovery

Patricia Wayant-ed

78 Things they didn’t Teach you in School But You Do Need To Know

Emily Falk

I accidentally come across the Everything Series in a bookstore in Makati while waiting for my friend. My first ever Everything Series was about Paganism which discusses ancient religious belief. And from then on, I now have seven books from the series which includes these 2 books. Yes, the Saints continue to fascinate me all throughout these years. The Everything Saints Books cover both Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox Church’s Saints.

From the Everything Series

The Everything Meditation Book

Rosemary Clark

The Everything Saints Book

Jenny Schroedel

Leave a Reply

