David

In line with yesterday’s reminisce episode with the June 1998 Vanity Fair magazine article for David Duchovny. I remembered posting a David article in my old blog almost two years ago which goes:

“If you’re smart, you’ll always be humble. You can learn all you want, but there’ll always be somebody who’s never read a book who’ll know twice what you know.”~ David Duchovny


If anyone would ask me what is my idea of an ideal guy. Without batting my eyelashes, I will say it’s David Duchovny. He flawlessly fit my idea of a perfect guy… one: he’s intelligent and smart, English Lit major from Princeton and MA English Lit and was finishing his Ph.D. degree from Yale, before Hollywood called him. Based from my recent stalking, I am surprised that he speaks French, Latin and Hebrew, which I think was not in any of the magazine I read about him. This mean, he is well read and yes, he does enjoy and write poetry, where I could only say “Wow”( I have no idea if he smells good, but by the looks of it, he’s okay smelling and I haven’t heard any nasty rumor of co-workers complaining about his hygiene and all) and secondly: he’s drop dead gorgeous…he looks good in suits, in swimming trunks (I cannot forget that X-files episode wherein he is in a red swimming trunks.) and in jeans and shirt. He’s now 49 years old and goodness, he’s still hot.

I remembered earlier this year (2009), there has been report about him checking in a rehab facility where he seeks treatment for sex addiction. I really have to hand it to him, that he knows what he’s doing and asks help when he needs it. And I am delighted to read from the web that he and his wife, the lovely Tea Leoni has reconciled September of this year.

Now, you’re going to ask, if he’s still the ideal guy definition for me, after his rehab and admission of sexual addiction, and this I have to say… David still fits my description of an ideal guy. Note it is “ideal guy” and not “Mr. Perfect.” I have long time ago accepted that nobody is perfect, we all have our faults, but just the same, I admire his courage and will power to know his imperfection and seeks help because he needed it. And that for me separates men from boys.

And as you expected, I will now look for the “Californication” series which earned him a Golden Globe Award for Best Actor in Television Comedy or Musical in 2007. Yes, he will always be my ideal guy… near perfection and so human.

PS: Between you and me, I have stalked him in Red Shoe Diary, but was disappointed after seeing one episode, to know that he is only a narrator with a dog in that series. I was also disappointed when I saw Playing God, he’s like Mulder in a Doctor shoe. But of course, I was not disappointed with the two X-Files movies.

By the way, the Tagalog movie “Kapag Tumibok ang Puso” starring Ai-Ai delas Alas and Bong Revilla was copied from David’s movie “Return to Me” with Minnie Driver. (Geez!)

(Note: I have edited the first paragraph of my old post. I got the picture from Google Image Search)

Leave a Reply

